LEF Announces Teacher Awards Finalists

 2013 Teacher Awards Finalists Announced By Lafayette Education Foundation

(LAFAYETTE, LA) – Last week, Lafayette Parish public, private and parochial schools were visited by the Lafayette Education Foundation (LEF) Finalist Patrol to recognize the sixteen finalists for the 2013 LEF Teacher Awards. The annual LEF Teacher Awards recognizes Lafayette Parish educators whose dedication and commitment greatly impact the lives of their students.

Etienna Wright, LEF Programs Director says, “LEF received 1,600 nomination letters this year, nominating nearly 600 teachers in Lafayette Parish. We at LEF believe that speaks to the quality of educators here in Lafayette and the appreciation that our community has for those educators. The selection panels have chosen sixteen teachers whom we feel honored to recognize for the fifteenth anniversary of Teacher Awards on January 17th. We can't wait for the community to hear their stories at the awards ceremony! We all know that you will be just as moved as we have been by the impact these educators are making in the lives of their students and their families.”




The LEF Teacher Awards, to be held January 17, 2013 at the Heymann Performing Arts Center, will begin at 7:30 p.m. followed by a reception in the Frem F. Boustany Convention Center directly behind the Heymann Center.

Tickets are currently available at all TicketMaster Outlets and the Heymann Performing Arts Center.




For more information, call LEF at 234-3229.


LEF is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2013 LEF Teacher Awards in the following categories:


Shirley Baniewicz – J. Wallace James Elementary

Trudie Lasseigne – Cathedral-Carmel School

Lynn McElroy – Woodvale Elementary

Terry Richard – Charles Burke Elementary


Lindy Blakewood – Ascension Lower School

Susan Deshotels – Youngsville Middle

Michelle Lakhotia – Judice Middle

Jane Vidrine – L.J. Alleman Middle


Shawnessy Bloom – Comeaux High

Linda Doherty – Teurlings Catholic High

Holly Grefe-Andrus – Lafayette High

Cecile Mitchell – W.D. & Mary Baker Smith Career Center


Jeanne Aguillard – Early College Academy

Rachel Gaspard – Paul Breaux Middle

Kimberly Kidder – J. Wallace James Elementary

Melinda Perrodin – Broussard Middle

Lafayette Education Foundation is a non-profit with the mission to promote and support excellence in education. LEF has accomplished its mission through the LEF Grants Program, LEF Teacher Awards and Lifelong Learning Initiatives. Having funded over $1 million in classroom grants since 1989, LEF enhances the learning experience for thousands of students. Through the annual Teacher Awards LEF has recognized over 3,700 educators, awarding $308,000 to outstanding educators. LEF also provides funding for a variety of lifelong learning initiatives, connecting education to the real world.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s