MLB votes NO ONE into the Hall Of Fame

(Image 1)

For the first time since 1996 and only the second since 1971, eligible members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America did not vote in a single player from a ballot of 37 candidates that was deep and controversial.

Craig Biggio was the leading vote-getter, having been named on 68.2 percent of the ballots, but fell 39 votes shy of election as he received 388 votes among the 569 ballots that were cast. Five of those ballots were left blank. He was followed by Jack Morris (67.7 percent), Jeff Bagwell (59.6) and Mike Piazza (57.8).

Hall of Fame president Jeff Idelson admitted that this was a very a tough election for the voting cohort.



blog comments powered by Disqus