State police have arrested nearly 7,500 people for drunk driving across Louisiana.
Historically, the number of drunk driving arrests increases between Christmas and New Years Day.
Police say reminders of a designated driver are the hardest message to convey during the holidays. However, unfortunately it’s the holidays when state police arrest the most people for drunk driving.
A 2015 update to Louisiana DWI laws means more time behind bars for offenders. For example, up until now the first conviction of a DWI got the offender up to a $250 fine. The new law adds a minimum of ten days in jail, with 32 hours of community service. A second offense for a DWI and that minimum increases to 30 days in jail.
Troopers say don’t risk it. A cab ride costs a lot less than fines and legal fees.