Louisiana Legislative Acadiana Delegation holds officer elections

State Representative Vincent Pierre (D-District 44) has been re-elected for a third consecutive time to serve as Chairman of the Acadiana Legislative Delegation for the 2015 Legislative Session. Representative Pierre previously served as Chairman throughout the 2013 and 2014 Legislative Sessions and will continue with his duties immediately.

Rep. Pierre serves House District 44, which encompasses Lafayette Parish. He serves on Commerce, Insurance, and Labor and Industrial Relations Committees.

“It is truly a humbling honor and privilege to serve as Chairman of this wonderful Delegation and its members for a third consecutive year. I look forward to working together with the forty-six members as a united coalition here at the Capitol, and I will continue to fight with full effort and diligence to make sure that the voices of all citizens throughout the twenty-two parishes of Acadiana are heard throughout the next year,” said Pierre.

Other offices of the Acadiana Legislative Delegation that were up for election were Vice Chairman and Secretary/Treasurer. Senator Jonathan Perry (R-District 26) was re-elected as the Delegation’s Vice Chairman without opposition, and Representative Mickey Guillory (D-District 41) was re-elected as the Delegation’s Secretary/Treasurer, also without opposition.

As chairman, Representative Pierre appointed six delegation members to serve as officers on the Executive Committee, they are: Rep. John Berthelot (R- District 88), Rep. Nancy Landry (R- District 31), Rep. Jack Montoucet (D- District 42), Rep. Edward Price (D- District 58), Rep. Blake Miguez (R- District 49), and Rep. Ledricka Thierry (D- District 40).

The Delegation was formed in 1979. It is composed of 35 Representatives and 11 Senators whose Districts are fully or partially located within one of the twenty-two parishes designated as the Acadiana Region.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s