New laws taking effect this week impact Louisiana drivers

Photo: WWL-TV

Drivers only have to renew their licenses every six years beginning Wednesday, but they’ll have to pay more when they buy a car or seek a copy of their driving record.

Those changes are among the new state laws that take effect with the start of July, along with a new 50-cent-per-pack tax hike on cigarette smokers and scaled-back tax breaks for businesses.

Previously, drivers had to renew their licenses in Louisiana every four years. But lawmakers changed the renewal period to six years, saying it could help lessen wait times at the Office of Motor Vehicles. License fees will increase to cover the extra years.

Meanwhile, car buyers will pay $50 more for a vehicle title, and the price tag for getting an official driving record rises by $10.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s