Out with the old: Mayor-president, council swearing-in today

Photo Credit: The Daily Advertiser

Lafayette ushers in a new era Monday when a new mayor-president and council are sworn into office.

The swearing-in ceremony for Mayor-President Joel Robideaux and the nine members of the Lafayette City-Parish Council is at 3 p.m. Monday at City Hall.

A Lafayette resident and three-term state representative, Robideaux will become the third man to lead Lafayette Consolidated Government, following in the footsteps of outgoing City-Parish President Joey Durel and the late Walter Comeaux, who proceeded Durel.

A new Lafayette City-Parish Council also takes office Monday, a council with four new members, including for the first time since the formation of LCG in 1996, two women elected to council seats.

Nanette Cook will represent District 7 on the council, replacing Don Bertrand, who chose not to seek re-election. Cook is a long-time educator and is the daughter of former Lafayette City Councilman Al Simon.

Elizabeth Webb-Hebert is the second woman elected to the council. She’ll represent District 8, replacing Keith Patin, who did not seek another term. Until recently, she was the convention center sales manager at the Cajundome. She was recently hired as the business development/marketing manager for Lafayette Surgical Specialty Hospital.

Another new face on the council will be Patrick “Pat” Lewis, who defeated incumbent District 3 Councilman Brandon Shelvin. Lewis is an auditor for the Lafayette Parish School System, where he previously served as a transportation coordinator and contract bus driver.

A fourth person joining the council is a familiar face. Bruce Conque will be sworn in Monday as councilman for District 6, a seat he was elected to in 2003 and 2007. Conque resigned in October 2008 to work for the Greater Lafayette Chamber of Commerce but has since retired. He defeated Andy Naquin in November to gain the seat back.

Returning councilmen who will be sworn in Monday include Kevin Naquin, District 1; Jay Castille, District 2; Kenneth Boudreaux, District 4; Jared Bellard, District 5; and William Theriot, District 9.

The new council meets for the first time at 5:30 p.m. Tuesday at City Hall, 705 W. University Ave. when they will elect officers for 2016.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s